Goo Gone

I have problems with organization.

I like things to be very organized and I find it stressful when they aren’t. Yet, almost nothing in my life is organized! When I organize an area, it becomes disorganized in a matter of months. I’m great at organizing things, I’m just awful at keeping them that way. It’s rather annoying.

I just finished organizing the cabinet under my kitchen sink. I need to re-organize every, single cabinet in my house. But I’m overwhelmed by this seemingly gargantuan task and so therefore, I procrastinate. I stress about it not getting done but then still don’t do it. Weird, I know.
Finally, I was persuaded by a large caffeinated coffee to get at least one cabinet reorganized. Here’s a partial list of things I found under my sink: sponges (5), glue, Goo Gone, weird random tools (lots), a pumpkin carving kit, brown bags (approx. 900), bubbles (12), old finger paints, Shabbat candles (3 boxes) and 1 bottle of floor cleaner that has moved with us twice over the past 3 years. What the hell?! Why do I have 12 things of bubbles??? I only have 2 kids!!! Won’t 3 or 4 suffice? Why must I save things needlessly? Like, for example, old floor cleaner that I’m obviously never going to use (I use a Shark steam cleaner that I love!!!) Take a guess: Did I throw away that bottle of cleaner? No. Why? I have no idea.

Know what else I did in my kitchen today? I cleaned my stove top. It wasn’t super dirty but it had some kind of sticky, greasy, alien-like substance surrounding one of the burners. So, I thought, ‘Hell yeah!! A chance to use that Goo Gone I just found!!’ So, I used it. And as I was using it, another thought came to me: Holy shit…is this stuff flammable?! Hmm. One thing you should know about me: Sometimes I like to do things just to see what will happen. It keeps things interesting. So, I clicked on the burner…you know, not to try to start a fire or anything…just to see what would happen. I’m happy to report that it doesn’t appear to be flammable. I will also report that I found it a little disappointing that nothing exciting happened.

Important side note: Apparently, Goo Gone is HIGHLY flammable. Thank you to my dear husband, who also has ADHD, but DOES read labels. He told me that, if I were to read the label, I would see large warning signs on it. Maybe next time I’ll read the label. Then again, maybe not…

Leave a comment