The Backpack

The Backpack

The Backpack

My husband, son and I worked very hard all morning doing fall clean-up. My daughter had it easy because she was on my back the whole time in the Ergo carrier. We ignored our flower beds all summer so cleaning up was no easy task! Beach time vs. weeding the gardens….no contest!

With our long-put-off chores completed (mostly), we decided to hit the beach. We actually remembered to pack the hiking baby-backpack, water for everyone and baby essentials. On our way, we stopped in town to get some gelato. I put my daughter in her stroller and off we went. We ate our delicious gelato and went back to the car. I put my now-sticky daughter in her car seat while also-sticky hubby packed up the stroller and re-loaded it into the car. Meanwhile, I lost my keys (which occurs roughly 4,567 times a day), got out of the car, went to retrieve them from the stroller and got back into the car. Off we went to the beach.

And here we are, 5 minutes later, about 4 miles down the road, at the beach.

Husband: Hahahaha! We drove all this way with the backpack up on the top of the car!!! Hahahaha!
Me: NO!!! HOLY SHIT!!! ARE YOU SERIOUS???
Husband: Hahahaha!
Me: I CAN’T BELIEVE YOU LEFT THE BACKPACK ON THE ROOF OF THE CAR!!!!
Husband: I can’t believe you got out looking for your keys and didn’t NOTICE the backpack up on top of the car!!!
Me: I’M FIVE FEET TALL!!!!

Now. I’ve failed to mention that this backpack is one of my most prized possessions. It was a gift from my parents (actually to hubby, not to me!) before our son was born. I’ve hiked hundreds of miles with my precious babies in this backpack! Not to mention that it’s just an awesome backpack and I love it!!!

There’s a lot to be said about finding humor in your daily fuck-ups. But not if it ends in backpack road-pizza! But, as they say, all’s well that ends well. Or, as my dear husband just said, “Come on! You have to admit it–it WAS funny! Because nothing happened to it! That’s what makes it so funny!”
Yeah. I suppose so.

Leave a comment